11. Conclusion

In this Second Paper, I have analyzed many interesting points in order to accomplish completely my aim: to investigate feminism in Virginia Woolf, through her works

First of all, I have entered into the mind and feelings of the author, reading diaries, biographies or letters, as well as her books. I have connected her life with feminist ideas successfully. Her life had a great effect in her works. Then, I’ ve organized chronologically these three works both historically and regarding her life.

Secondly, through the sections “Clarissa in Mrs. Dalloway”, “Mr. Barrett in Flush” and “The essay of A Room of One’ s Own” I have analysed the three works, using only one character in Flush and Mr. Dalloway. Thus, I’ ve introduced them to the readers preparing three works from a feminist point of view.

After that, I have considered interesting points (in order to accomplished my aim in this Second Paper) the themes Women Writers and Androgyny. The first one is a theme in A Room of One’ s Own and Flush. The second one is explicitly talked by Woolf in her longest essay.

Also, I’ ve added information about two influences of Woolf: Jane Austen and Charlotte Brontë, two English women writers in the Victorian Age, pioneers in feminism.

Therefore, after analysing all that, I’ ve reached the goal: feminism in Virginia Woolf through those three works. This parragraph is the meeting of all those points. Also, I have investigated about the discussion between feminism and androgynous mind as the topic that the authors wanted to transmit. So, after comparing Mrs. Dalloway, Flush and A Room of One’ s Own from a feminist point of view to Virginia Woolf’ s life and its consequence in her works and to the other themes of women writers and angrogyny, I conclude that this author and this novel is being studied nowadays because of their complexity and their mystery, as all great work. Regarding the discussion about what she wrote about, in my opinion, she proposed an androgynous mind as a strategy to combat inequealities between genres from a feminist point of view, of course.

 



45 comments ↓

There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below..

You must log in to post a comment.